Return of a Masterpiece

I am still in love with this play even after seeing it a couple times already. NTLive’s presentation of Frankenstein from 2011, directed by Danny Boyle and starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller in the leads, is still just as captivating as the first time I watched it. I have watch both versions and I still cannot pick a favorite though as both leads approached their roles quite differently. For those of you unfamiliar with this production, the lead actors alternated roles of Doctor and Creature each performance. This year, at least in my area, only the version with Benedict as the Creature was broadcast this time. I would love for them to put this and many of their other productions on video but I know that will never happen. I gave a review my first time viewing so I will not bore you with spouting the same praises yet again but since seeing this last night I just had to say once again that I love everything about the play, from the costumes and set designs to the actor portrayals and overall story. Poetry in motion (even the flopping around in the beginning lol). Truly a masterpiece. Looking forward to the encore screening of last year’s Hamlet with the talented Mr. Cumberbatch in a couple weeks.

About DarkPhoenix

I am an open book. My pages are just stuck together.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

