Movie Time Again

I’m a sucker for a Star Trek film. I’ve been a Star Trek fan since before I could walk. Naturally I would have to check out the latest Star Trek movie, Star Trek Beyond. First off, I will say that I don’t think anyone can ever recapture the magic of the original first 6 movies. That being said, Star Trek Beyond was a valiant effort and I still thoroughly enjoyed it. In this installment, the Enterprise crew is asked to help an alien rescue her people, only to end up marooned on a planet inside a nebula and come across a bad guy played by Idris Elba. Finally, a new bad guy! Slow moving in some places while some other points could have had a bit more depth, but overall a fun watch. The interaction between Karl Urban’s Dr. McCoy and Zachary Quinto’s Spock was classic and very reminiscent of the characters as played by Deforest Kelly and Leonard Nimoy. I could do without the Uhura/Spock relationship dynamic really though. Romantic involvement does not have to be foreced into every frikkin’ movie. I can also do without Scotty’s little alien friend, totally not necessary to the film. The visuals were well done and the fight scenes were nicely choreographed. I loved their little nods to the late Leonard Nimoy, who played the original Spock. It was very touching. There is also an homage to the original Star Trek cast and of course to Anton Yelchin who played Chekov. He recently passed away in a freak accident. I score this at 8 out of 10. Not perfect, but still enjoyable.

About DarkPhoenix

I am an open book. My pages are just stuck together.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

