Sorry, I Was Curious

Caught “Pixels” the other night. Out of curiosity, knowing I’m not really an Adam Sandler fan in the first place, I watched the whole thing. Out of boredom of course. This movie may be okay for the kiddies, but not exactly top notch entertainment fare in my opinion. In 1982, video feeds of the popular culture of the day were sent out into space, including the video games. Aliens misinterpret the feed as hostile intent and invade Earth 35 years later using video games and video game rules (3 lives, winner gets a trophy, etc.). It’s up to Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Michelle Monaghan, Josh Gad and Peter Dinklage to save the planet with their expertise in the games they played as teenagers. The concept is an interesting one, but the execution I found lacking. I don’t mind the occasional goofy movie, but this one just didn’t have the right stuff for me. And this may seem nitpicky, but even though I was very little in 1982, many of the games and pop culture references used do not fit the times the story talks about (many games post 1985, yeah I was a video game player as a child. It was the 80’s, it was the new thing.) Adam Sandler doesn’t even try with his acting anymore it seems, and the rest of the cast feel as if they are wondering, “We better be getting paid very well for doing this.” and just going through the motions the best they can with the material they are given. Comedy has always been a subjective thing, so maybe it’s just me, but this seemed mediocre at best. A few chuckles here and there perhaps but plot was too thin for me even for a comedy. Again, children may like it. I give it a 5.5 out of 10.

About DarkPhoenix

I am an open book. My pages are just stuck together.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

