If I Had the Money

Recently, I had the age old discussion with someone about what would one do if they suddenly came into a huge sum of money totalling over a million dollars. I think we all have these conversations from time to time. Would you invest it, blow it, squirrel it away, take care of things needing taken care of? So many possibilities. Personally, there would be a few things I would do.

First, I would get my eyes fixed since it has been a few years since I had been able to go to an eye doctor for new glasses and new ones are definitely needed, or maybe even get that lasik surgery done. Second, I would put some away for a rainy day. I grew up not having much nor the ability to have much and I’ve always hated it. Being able to have money in my rainy day savings again would be wonderful, and no use blowing it all in one go. With the rest I would finally be able to chase my dreams unhindered of making films and even travel the world. Maybe even move out of the country to somewhere that feels more like home even though I’ve never been there in my life. Since early childhood, I have had a strong thirst for traveling needing to see the world around me. Growing up, we never took “family vacations” or go out to do anything really interesting. Sure there were the occasional day trips to Harsens Island or Algonac to go fishing and the occasional excursion to Cedar Point in Ohio with my grandparents on my dad’s side, but that was about it as far as family adventures. One other thing that could partially count would be the trips to West Virginia to visit relatives on my mum’s side up until I was about 6 or 7, but we never went out and did anything while there other than the children would play in the yard while the grown ups would sit around the house chatting about whatever they chatted about. In my 20s I did finally get away a few times to Chicago, Las Vegas, Niagara Falls, Hershey, and Ontario, Canada, it’s not enough. Sadly it all came to an end far too early in my life. I still need to see the world, the yearning is too strong. If I had the money, I would do it in a heartbeat and never look back. I could finally be me again, the me I should have been long ago but never got to be.

About DarkPhoenix

I am an open book. My pages are just stuck together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

