Tease Me But Don’t Spoil It

What ever happened to the simple pleasure of watching a film or reading a book for the first time and not knowing how it ends until you get there? Whenever a movie, tv show, or book comes out these days, the internet seems to get flooded with spoilers revealing way too much before it premiers. It’s hard not to see unless you swear off the internet. Personally, I like to be surprised by a revelation or a twist to a plot. Movies based on books, well that can be unavoidable if you have seen one before seeing the other. Don’t get me wrong, I love to see teasers. Teasers are designed to rope in an audience, get them interested. No spoilers though please. I want to go on the journey with the characters and maybe have my socks knocked off. People have worked long and hard to make a story meant to be savored. No point if you already know the whole story before seeing it the first time. It would be like someone telling you what special present you got before unwrapping it, or blabbing off about you having a surprise party before walking into the door to see everyone shout “SURPRISE!” Kind of anticlimactic if you ask me. By all means tease me a little, but let me take the journey of discovery and let the storyteller(s) knock my socks off.

About DarkPhoenix

I am an open book. My pages are just stuck together.
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

