Never Watch Special Features on the Same Night as a Long Movie

Thanksgiving at home all quiet and peaceful. I ended up staying in my jammies all day lol. As I said earlier, I was going to watch my Hobbit dvd. I made the mistake though of watching the bonus features after the film. Don’t get me wrong, the film was terrific, think I reviewed it earlier this year in fact. But “The Hobbit: The Unexpected Journey”, in true Peter jackson form, is a long movie clocking in at a little over 3 hours. Add to that the bonus features disk which is over 2 hours. That’s a big chunk of time sitting on your butt. To anyone who hasn’t watched the dvd yet, watch the special features separately from the movie lol.

I think when I first reviewed the movie, I gave it 8 out of 10, and it still holds at that number. The production value is superb, the performances outstanding, musical score is beautiful, and the scenery omg New Zealand is gorgeous and makes the perfect backdrop for the movie as Middle Earth. The major drawback to this installment that I see is the slow startup. Peter Jackson loves to make sure the audience gets drawn into the film so he adds a bunch of padding. The padding is still good though. Can’t wait for the next installment coming out in a few weeks. I still think they could have gotten away with making the movie a two parter but hey still great stuff. If you enjoyed the “Lord of the Rings” trilogy, you will like “The Hobbit”. The bonus features contain some of the most in-depth behind the scenes stuff I have seen for any movie.

I am sure that everyone by now knows what the movie is. For those that don’t, here is a brief spoiler free synopsis. This first part of Peter Jackson’s telling of “The Hobbit”  by J.R.R. Tolkien, introduces us to Bilbo Baggins played by Martin Freeman. Bilbo is a halfling. Halflings by their very nature do not make a habit of going off on adventures. One night, Bilbo unexpectedly plays host to a party of dwarves and the wizard Gandalf. The dwarves are planning to go on a quest to reclaim their home from the dragon, Smaug, and recruit Bilbo to be their burglar. At first Bilbo declines, but then after a speech from Gandalf and a bit of soul searching, Bilbo agrees and joins the dwarves on their journey. As with any epic quest, there are obstacles to overcome. We also see Bilbo grow in confidence along the way. As with any theatrical adaptation of a book, do not expect everything to be exactly word for word. Though the movie stays true to the original material, there are a few add ins here and there. Definitely worth a watch.

About DarkPhoenix

I am an open book. My pages are just stuck together.
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

