Let’s Play

The theatre, my old friend I never had the chance to join. I love a good play as much as I love a good movie. I remember the first time I went to a play. It was on a 2nd grade field trip to see the non-Disneyized version of “Sleeping Beauty”, and I remember how awestruck I was and how I wanted to be able to one day create the same magic. Stage or screen it did not matter. The art of acting and of creating beautiful stories was a love I had since I was real small. But alas it was a calling I would have to miss out on, life has a way of crushing your dreams and passions.

Anyways, enough of the sadness and onto the purpose of tonight’s blog:

Over the past couple nights, I have been lucky enough to catch some theatrical plays on the internet. I know, it is nothing like going to see the real thing but when you’re unable to afford to go to see a play live the internet is the next best thing. Something to make me laugh, and something to give me chills plus a little extra on the side for good measure.

You know me by now, so you know sometimes I need a really good laugh. I found a video of Monty Python’s “Spamalot” with the original Broadway cast with Tim Curry, David Hyde Pierce, Hank Azaria, and a few actors I do not know. “Spamalot” is a musical version of the 1975 comedy “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”, a parody of the legend of King Arthur and his Knights of the Round Table. The movie is one of my favorite Monty Python films. Even if you’re not a fan of Monty Python, you will laugh your head off. Great fun and I do believe they are having a uk and us tours again some time this year.

Another good play I am glad someone pirated onto the internet was Danny Boyle’s production of “Frankenstein” from 2011 starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller in the lead roles. The two leads (creature and Victor Frankenstein) would take turns in each others roles. I saw the version with Benedict Cumberbatch as the creature. If you know Danny Boyle’s works either on stage or in movies, you know things can get a little surreal. Unfortunately, this is the only way I will ever get to see Mr. Cumberbatch perform on a stage since I am all the way in the US. The man is so breathtakingly versatile. The story opens with the creature being “born” and then abandoned by Frankenstein. We follow the creature through various scenes where many flee from him in terror. He eventually educates himself with the help of a blind man before he is found out by the man’s son and daughter in law and is forced to flee. He then searches for Frankenstein, his creator, to see if he would make him a mate so that he would not be alone in the world. The creature seems to be very self-aware. Frankenstein reluctantly agrees, at first, then backs out refusing to fully animate the woman he created and destroys her. Of course there are consequences to this. Great play, bet it was awesome in the theatre.

Another fine performance I caught was a little play called ‘The Turning Point’ for the Sky Arts Theatre Live! series from 2009. Another UK production starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Matthew Marsh as Guy Burgess and Winston Churchill respectively. Set in 1938 on the brink of WWII, the story revolves around a meeting of these two men who years later became remembered for two distinctly different things. Benedict of course delivered a good performance, as always. Yeah I know, sound a bit biased but can’t help it. You need to see the guy act, he is more than just a pretty face and hot bod lol. Even men can enjoy his work. We can all use a little extra Cumberbatch 🙂

Well that’s it for now, it’s a half hour past my bed time and I got to get up for work in the morning. Oh the drudgery of it all.

About DarkPhoenix

I am an open book. My pages are just stuck together.
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Play

  1. charlie says:

    I wouldn’t even know how I ended up right here, but I imagined this post had been great. I dont know whom you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you arent already 😉 Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

